Hey, Barbecutie

Why Was I Unaware This Existed?

Posted on: January 22, 2011

The Futureheads did a Christmas song. It is predictably excellent.

I love the Futureheads. Aside from being a really, genuinely great band, and probably the best live act I’ve ever seen, I admire how they cut ties with their big record company and gave up the payday to make the music they wanted to make (to whit: really really good). Make art, not money and that. And also, I love them.

In fact, I saw them tonight in the Forum in London (honestly, I have no idea where I was, but it was London.) and they remain spectacular. Their harmonies make my face explode with pleasure. I kept noticing myself just grinning like a lunatic. I was giddy. And in support, The Young Knives, who I’ve been trying to see since about 2005 (six years? Jesus!), and who were also outstanding, and oh fuck it, let’s have a video for them too.

Turn Tail, completely magnificent. According to Henry, it’s been on tv ads, but lacking regular access to a television for the past three years or so, I’ve missed that pleasure.

And we might as well have another Futureheads one, since News and Tributes is in my top two albums of all time. I like Beginning of the Twist because of the terrifyingly aggressive delivery of the really quite romantic lyric “let’s get it started with a kiss”. But here’s Skip To The End instead, because it’s aces:

I was meant to actually say something here, but I think I’ve gone off the point slightly. New post it is then…

Leave a Reply

